This Community of Practice, chaired by Associate Professor Forbes McGain (Associate Dean, Sustainable Healthcare, University of Melbourne), provides a forum for engagement on aspects of sustainability in healthcare and health research from across MACH partners. The group will share knowledge, collaborate on inter-institutional sustainability projects, and advocate for change.


Associate Professor Forbes McGain

Western Health, University of Melbourne


Lauren Wallis


Scoping current practices and identifying areas of shared priority across institutions will define the initial direction of this newly formed group.

This group will collaboratively seek external funding for projects to mitigate the environmental impact of health care and research, and advocate for change at local and State level.

Name: Affiliations: Bio:
Andie Beattie WEHI
Professor Kathryn Bowen University of Melbourne
Andrew Cook Murdoch Children's Research Institute
Dr Jess Davies Austin Health
Sharon Desmond Mercy Health
Dr Ben Dunne Royal Melbourne Hospital
Professor Richard Gray La Trobe University
Dr Ying Gu Royal Women's Hospital
Professor Eugenie Kayak University of Melbourne, Austin Health, Alfred Hospital
Dr Karen Kiang Royal Children's Hospital
Emily Lamb Florey Institute
Associate Professor Forbes McGain Western Health, University of Melbourne
Dr Heather Machin Centre for Eye Research Australia
Vanessa O'Shaughnessy Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
David Phelan Olivia Newton John Cancer Research Institute
Professor David Story Austin Health, University of Melbourne, MACH
Tory Williams St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne